The Strangely Uplifting Tale of the Camgirl with No Vagina

I wrote one of the most difficult articles I’ve ever done a few days back and wanted to share it with you. It was an interview with a camgirl named Sally from Texas.

My conversations with Sally stayed with me for days. She has lost more in half a decade than most people do in an entire lifetime. Despite this her passion for life seem limitless and her ability to turn the most negative of situations into something positive is astonishing. Her choices for dealing with life may be unconventional to some, but they work for her and I think that’s awesome.

I was raised on the same diet of girl-on-girl coprophilia, animal torture, and 24-hour Arabic news channels that every child of generation WWW was, so the internet has to work pretty hard to shock me. But when a friend of mine linked me to this (very NSFW) photo-set at Efukt.com, I was actually taken aback by what I saw.

The girl in the photos calls herself “DamageDolly” and works as a webcam stripper, or “cam-girl.” As I scrolled down the page, not only was a colostomy bag visible, but the model had severe scarring from her navel down to what appeared to be absent genitalia. Farther down the page, a photo showed her with two fresh mastectomy wounds.

Intrigued as to how she’d summoned the confidence to disrobe in front of the cruel, cruel internet, I decided to track her down and find out her story. Her name is Sally and her story is hard to swallow, but it’s kinda logical when you think about it. I guess it’s just not the kind of logic you have to think about very often.

Read the full story over at VICE.

Leave a Reply

