Lebanon is pretty fucked right now

Thick plumes of smoke are rising above the Beirut skyline. Beirut is closed today, turn back and go home. Young men roam the streets with their faces covered, burning tires and creating makeshift barriers. Sectarian lines are being drawn through the city closing all the major roads. Today the Prime Minister handed in his resignation, the government stands on the brink of collapse. All anyone can do is watch and wait.

As I type this there are mass demonstrations as General Al-Hassan’s funeral is taking place.

Everyone here knows who was responsible for the bomb. Everyone. The politicians representing them have the audacity to accuse March 14th of politicising the assassination. That is kind of the weird thing about political assassination is it not? Fucking morons, the lot of them.

People are asking me why I’m not out there protesting. I’ll tell you why, I may be abhorred by what has taken place, but that does not mean I will fly my flag alongside the LF or any of the other butchers that sit in power alongside March 14th. One evil is not preferable to another.

This country needs radical change, and none of the political parties represent that, they all have too much blood on their hands.

One thing is for certain though, if Hizb are not stopped then more blood will be flowing through the streets of Beirut very soon.

The truth is that atheism, secularism and education of women and the underclasses are the only way to progress in any society, and I will not shy away from saying that even if it gets me arrested or worse.

People are calling this a dark day in Lebanese history. In all honesty I cannot remember there was a single good day for Lebanon, Palestine, Syria or any other country in the region, nor do I hold out any hope for one soon.

One comment

  1. Appreciating the commitment you put into your
    blog and in depth information you offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the
    same old rehashed material. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

